Vote for Lumen Christi nominee now

Published: April 6, 2016

Click Here to Vote

If you have a Facebook account, vote for Cackie Upchurch by clicking on this link (button above) and then click the blue "Vote" button.

Cackie Upchurch, director of Little Rock Scripture Study, was nominated by Bishop Anthony B. Taylor for the 2016 Lumen Christi Award. This award, presented by Catholic Extension, recognizes an individual or group working in one of America's mission dioceses who demonstrates how faith can transform lives and communities.

Past honorees of the Lumen Christi Award, which is Latin for "Light of Christ," have included priests, religious and lay leaders nationwide since 1978. Msgr. Scott Friend, vicar general and director of vocations and seminarians, won the award in 2007. Award winners receive a $50,000 grant ($25,000 for the honoree and $25,000 for the nominating diocese).

Upchurch is one of 48 nominees for this year's award. Her entry describes her many contributions to the Church. "If you’ve read Scripture study guides in the past two decades, you’ve probably read Cackie Upchurch’s work. ... She was deeply involved in the Little Rock Catholic Study Bible printed in 2011 and has written 30 Scripture study guides. The study materials have been printed more than three million times in several languages. She’s an inspirational speaker who serves churches all over the diocese and has traveled far and wide to spread the word of God — interpreting Scripture for the average parishioner everywhere from Arkansas to China."

Although other factors contribute to the selection of the winner, individuals may vote for their nominee on Facebook and influence who wins. If you have a Facebook account, you may vote for Upchurch by visiting the contest app, selecting her page and clicking on the "Vote" button. Your support could help her win and not only recognize the contributions she has made to bringing the "Light of Christ" to the world but also earn $50,000 to support her work and the Diocese of Little Rock as well. Vote here. Hurry! The deadline to vote is midnight on April 22.