Catholic teachers celebrated for service

Published: September 30, 2016

The Office of Catholic Schools recognized 11 teachers and administrators during the annual Arkansas Catholic Professional Day for Teachers at Christ the King Church in Little Rock Sept. 23.

The following were honored for 25 years of service in Catholic schools: Ann Hill, sixth-grade science teacher, Immaculate Conception School, Fort Smith; Carol Fox, sixth-grade language arts and religion teacher, Our Lady of the Holy Souls School, Little Rock; Lou Ann Gieringer, campus minister, Mount St. Mary Academy, Little Rock; and Janet Kanopsic, first-grade teacher, St. John School, Hot Springs.

Six clergy and religious were recognized for working for more than 40 years in Catholic schools. They are: Sister Cheryl Quave, RSM, 41 years and Sister Noeline Banks, RSM, 52 years in Hot Springs; Sister Joan Pfauser, RSM, 46 years, Brother Richard Sanker, CFP, 46 years and Msgr. Lawrence Frederick, 52 years, all in Little Rock; and Sister Christopher Flowers, OSB, 62 years in West Memphis.

Superintendent Vernell Bowen also honored Kathy House, principal of Christ the King School in Little Rock, for her distinguished Catholic school leader award from the National Catholic Educational Association in March. In October, she will receive an elementary principal award from the U.S. Department of Education in Washington, D.C. She is one of only five private school principals nationally to receive the award.

To learn more about the Catholic schools in Arkansas, visit our schools directory or contact the Catholic Schools Office at (501) 664-0340.