2018 jubilarian priest Mass to be June 26

Published: June 7, 2018


En Español

Mass of Thanksgiving will be celebrated Tuesday, June 26 to honor five priests who are celebrating special anniversaries of priestly service in the Diocese Little Rock. Bishop Anthony B. Taylor, who celebrated his 10th anniversary of episcopacy on June 5, will also be honored. In addition, 16 retired priests will be recognized for their service.

The bishop will celebrate the Mass at 5:30 p.m. at the Cathedral of St. Andrew in Little Rock. A dinner reception will follow in McDonald Hall that is open to everyone. No reservations are required. All are invited to attend. For more information, contact María Velázquez, secretary of Bishop Taylor, at (501) 664-0340.

Father Thomas Keller, retired, and Father Hugh Assenmacher, OSB, sacramental minister of St. Mary Church in Altus, are celebrating 60 years of priesthood. And Father Les Farley, pastor of St. Leo Church in Hartford, Father Aby Abraham, IMS, associate pastor of Sacred Heart Church in Morrilton and St. Joseph Church in Center Ridge, and Father Patrick Watikha, AJ, pastor of Sacred Heart Church in Charleston, are celebrating 25 years of priesthood.

To learn more about these priests and others who have celebrated special anniversaries, read "Jubilee! A Series in Celebration" in Arkansas Catholic.  If unable to attend the Mass, please say a prayer of thanksgiving for these priests many years of faithful service caring for the flock.